top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegcm17

Blog 3

I found the reading for blog 3, “Shitty First Drafts,” to be very helpful as it provided me with great advice on the improvement of my writing process. As Lamott stated, a lot of people are under the impression that good writers just write down some great ideas on a new project and boom… you got yourself a best seller. She goes on to say that she has only known one writer to claim the publishing was her fresh work and that in her own experience in the field, she has to rewrite several times after her first shitty draft to get a publishable piece of writing. I found this article very helpful because when I sit down to write for the first time, I can never get anything on paper. And if I cannot get my ideas on paper than how am I going to shape it into a story? I now understand that although your first draft is bound to be pretty shitty, it's necessary to put your ideas on paper because in later assessment, it might spark other ideas. Even if you want to completely reshape your first draft, you're almost guaranteed to find something of value within the original.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 11

As I read Chapter 10 of the Bedford Book of Genre’s, I learned that multi-genre projects allow the artist to break away from the traditional research paper styled project and use more creative genre’s

Blog 10

For Blog 10 I am going to write about my experience with Project two and what I have learned about myself as a writer as well as what I have learned about my community. When I began my project two I w

bottom of page